Mouse buttons, an binding.

Need help? Ask here and someone will help
Post Reply
kamperkilla87
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:10 am

Mouse buttons, an binding.

Post by kamperkilla87 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:08 pm

Hello, I´m thinking about ordering another mouse. Which has an additional button on the side, so in total three buttons on the left side. The one i have now only has two. I want that additional button to be my macro trigger. The only issue is by default that button is a second MBUTTON_BUTTON_LEFT, an i need to be able to map it to whatever button i want. Being that I´m running Gimx on a Rpi i cant install the mouses software. Which prevents me from mapping that button to anything. Is there any possible way to get around this? Maybe in Gimx itself, or on the Rpi? Thx in advance

User avatar
Matlo
Posts: 4892
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:01 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Mouse buttons, an binding.

Post by Matlo » Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:52 pm

Open gimx-config, enable "Advanced > Multiple mice and keyboards". In the "Button" tab, click on "Auto-detect", and press the first button. Check the device detected. Click on "Auto-detect", and press the second button. Check the device detected: if is is the same (same name, same id), then there is no way out.
GIMX creator Donate Shop

kamperkilla87
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:10 am

Re: Mouse buttons, an binding.

Post by kamperkilla87 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:56 pm

Matlo wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:52 pm
Open gimx-config, enable "Advanced > Multiple mice and keyboards". In the "Button" tab, click on "Auto-detect", and press the first button. Check the device detected. Click on "Auto-detect", and press the second button. Check the device detected: if is is the same (same name, same id), then there is no way out.
Thanks! I will do so when if I choose that mouse. Might just look for another one. It's a pretty cheap mouse compared to the one I have now. Pretty good reviews on it though. Thought I'd give it a try. Also 5,000 dpi is the lowest recommended dpi huh?

User avatar
GoDlike
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:47 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Mouse buttons, an binding.

Post by GoDlike » Sun Jul 08, 2018 9:13 pm

Im successfully using 3600 dpi mouse so it's enough to work.
My hardware: Xbox 360 S "Trinity" RGH | PS3 Slim CFW 4.80 | PS4 5.50 | Mouse: 8 years old Gigabyte M8000x :mrgreen:
My Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Godlike_RU/ | PSN: GoDlike_RU

kamperkilla87
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:10 am

Re: Mouse buttons, an binding.

Post by kamperkilla87 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 9:56 pm

GoDlike wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 9:13 pm
Im successfully using 3600 dpi mouse so it's enough to work.
@Godlike thanks that's great to know. That will help me narrow my search. @Matlo here is a link to the mouse I'm speaking of. They call it a fire button. By default it rapidly presses MBUTTON_LEFT, so in theory it should have its own ID correct?
https://www.amazon.com/TeckNet-Programm ... th=1&psc=1

User avatar
GoDlike
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:47 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Mouse buttons, an binding.

Post by GoDlike » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:23 am

Well that depends on the manufacturer implementation. They could make their own ID and they also could hardcode it as normal left button.
My hardware: Xbox 360 S "Trinity" RGH | PS3 Slim CFW 4.80 | PS4 5.50 | Mouse: 8 years old Gigabyte M8000x :mrgreen:
My Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Godlike_RU/ | PSN: GoDlike_RU

kamperkilla87
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:10 am

Re: Mouse buttons, an binding.

Post by kamperkilla87 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:29 am

GoDlike wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:23 am
Well that depends on the manufacturer implementation. They could make their own ID and they also could hardcode it as normal left button.
By default its left click. With software it can be changed. I won't be able to use the software though being that I'm on Linux. Im under the assumption that it will have its own unique ID being that it can be changed to different buttons.

User avatar
Matlo
Posts: 4892
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:01 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Mouse buttons, an binding.

Post by Matlo » Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:04 am

If it can be reprogrammed and if the mouse keeps the button setting after a power cycle it will work.
GIMX creator Donate Shop

Post Reply