Building GIMX on Mac

Talk about anything concerning the source code.
awesome

Building GIMX on Mac

Post by awesome »

Hi Matlo,

First of all I can't find your email so I'm starting a post here.

I've tried this on Ubuntu and found that because Razer drivers don't work on Ubuntu, my high DPS mouse is useless on ubuntu. Same for Pi.
I've tried GIMX on Pi, ubuntu laptop, windows pc with both bluetooth and usb adapters.
On windows, I found that my computer crashes when I try to install USBDK, and now the USB ports do not work under windows at all, so I've thrown the useless junk windows computer out the window. :roll:

Anyway, as a mac user, I'm tired of these operating systems and want to try and install this natively lovely Mac, as I've tried emulators and can't get USB passthrough to work.
I've got both the physical DIY connector and the CSR bluetooth chip. Any way to support this on Mac? what would I need to build this myself? (I'm a developer myself).

Thanks man, your work is great.
Matlo

Re: Building GIMX on Mac

Post by Matlo »

Hi,

I moved your topic to the development section.

The fastest way to get GIMX work on MAC OS is to use a DIY USB adapter as the bluetooth-related code is Linux-specific.
The USB-related source code uses libusb, which is also available for MAC OS.
It should also be possible to use libSDL for input devices. It's already used in Windows for joysticks and "Window events", and it should be easy to port this code to MAC OS.

My email can be found in the source code.
GIMX creator
Lythinari

Post by Lythinari »

Hi Matt,
I've been lurking for awhile on these forums, I've tried a few solutions to work in a VM which none worked.
The closest I got was with lubuntu using the .deb file however I couldnt launch gimx-launcher because it was compiled with a different compiler.. or something. I believe the actual GIMX binary worked though. :]

Anyway, thats for another thread.