Input "Network" broken

Need help? Ask here and someone will help
Post Reply
angluter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 1:08 pm

Input "Network" broken

Post by angluter »

DIY Adapter
Xbox One
Windows x64
GIMX 8
firmwares-8.0\EMUXONE\atmega32u4.hex
On the xbox dashboard

I can use the adapter fine when using (for instance) the "X360_PerfectDark_Godlike" config. I am using my keyboard to move around the dashboard no problem.

But when I switch to "network" as the input, I can only very rarely get button presses to work. Usually when they work, I can get in two or three and then it will stop again. I cannot see any pattern as to when it does eventually work. In the same GIMX session, it will not work at all and after about a minute of sending network events, one will finally trigger on the console.

The "curses" messages show the events in GIMX, so GIMX is receiving the network events clearly. It just doesn't seem to be passing them on?

I have generated logs, but they are very boring and don't really show any problems. Perhaps some of the debug logs would help?

Network events:
https://pastebin.com/vLyBLEHn

Code: Select all

0 1266874521.633928, guide (255)
0 1266874521.821372
0 1266874522.482145, guide (255)
0 1266874522.668149
0 1266874523.194219, guide (255)
0 1266874523.387452
0 1266874523.866916, guide (255)
These are the only ones that triggered.


Physical events:
https://pastebin.com/6TdkpHMj
No problems

Thanks for looking!
angluter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 1:08 pm

Re: Input "Network" broken

Post by angluter »

If anybody encounters similar issues, rolling back to GIMX 7.15 and associated firmware (5.8+) seems to have fixed it and network events are fully operational again.
User avatar
GoDlike
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:47 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Input "Network" broken

Post by GoDlike »

Thanks for the report. I'll pass that info to main developer.
My hardware: PS3 Slim CFW 4.80 | PS4 Pro 500 Million LE | PS5 | Xbox Series X
Steam: Godlike_RU | PSN: GoDlike_RU | XBL: GoDlike
User avatar
Matlo
Posts: 5768
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:01 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Input "Network" broken

Post by Matlo »

Do you use the same GIMX version for both GIMX instances?
GIMX creator
angluter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 1:08 pm

Re: Input "Network" broken

Post by angluter »

Hello Matlo,

It was the same PC, running the same software (sometimes even the same software "instance" if that makes sense), with the same dongle. Between "physical devices" and "network input", nothing was being unplugged, replugged, closed down or opened etc. As far as I can tell, they are identical setups.

For instance,
If I selected physical devices, I could use GIMX. Then I would close the "curses" window, change to network and it wouldn't work. Then I would close the "curses" window and select physical devices and it would work. (The main GIMX launcher stayed open the whole time).

The network commands were sent both via gimx executable (using the gimx.exe from the same installation folder as the gimx-launcher.exe I was using) with command line parameters as well as from a bespoke program sending UDP packets. Both resulted in the same intermittent behavior.

Thanks
User avatar
Matlo
Posts: 5768
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:01 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Input "Network" broken

Post by Matlo »

Please post the command line(s) you are using.
GIMX creator
angluter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 1:08 pm

Re: Input "Network" broken

Post by angluter »

Code: Select all

function press-guide {
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_2(255)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 150
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_2(0)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
}
function press-guide-360 {
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_0(255)" --event "abs_axis_1(255)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_0(0)" --event "abs_axis_1(0)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
}
function press-up {
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_3(255)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_3(0)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
}
function press-right {
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_4(255)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_4(0)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
}
function press-down {
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_5(255)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_5(0)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
}
function press-left {
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_6(255)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_6(0)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
}
function press-Y {
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_7(255)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_7(0)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
}
function press-B {
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_8(255)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_8(0)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
}
function press-A {
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_9(255)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
    $(&"c:\Program Files\GIMX\gimx.exe" --event "abs_axis_9(0)" --dst 127.0.0.1:51914) | out-null
    start-sleep -m 100
}
These are some examples (using powershell to send them)
Post Reply